- Rosemary Margaret, Mrs. KENNEDY, T.D., Chief Nursing Officer for Wales, Welsh Assembly Government. For public and voluntary service.
- Peter Arthur KING, lately Chief Executive, British Cycling Federation. For services to Sport.
- Professor Christopher John LAMB, F.R.S., Director, John Innes Centre, Norwich. For services to Plant Science.
- Patricia Anne, Mrs. LANGHAM, Headmistress, Wakefield Girls' High School and Co-Chair, Independent and State Schools Partnership Forum. For services to local and national Education.
- Alastair LANSLEY, Architect. For services to Public Transport Architecture.
- Professor Quentin John LEIPER, Group Chief Engineer, Carillion plc and lately President, Institute of Civil Engineers. For services to the Sustainability Agenda.
- John Paul MARTIN, Chief Social Services Officer, Department of Health and Social Services, Northern Ireland Executive. For public and voluntary service.
- Brian MCALINDEN, Headteacher, Castlemilk High School, Glasgow. For services to Education.
- Ms Paula McDoNALD, Deputy Director, Economic and Domestic Affairs Secretariat, Cabinet Office.
- Ms Judith MCKNIGHT, O.B.E. For services to Trade Unions and to Equal Opportunities.
- The Very Reverend Dr. Andrew Rankin Cowie McLELLAN, H.M. Chief Inspector of Prisons for Scotland.
- Dr. Elaine MCMAHON, Chief Executive and Principal, Hull Group of Colleges. For services to local and national Further Education.
- Isabella, Mrs. McNALLY, Principal, Fountain Primary School, Londonderry. For services to Education in Northern Ireland.
- Councillor John MERRY, Leader, Salford City Council. For services to Local Government.
- David MLINARIC. For services to Interior Design and to Heritage.
- Shaukat MOLEDINA. For services to Social Housing and to Charity.
- Lindsay Stuart William MONTGOMERY, Chief Executive, Scottish Legal Aid Board. For services to the Administration of Justice.
- John O'NEILL, Director of Social Security Policy and Legislation Division, Department for Social Development, Northern Ireland Executive. For public and voluntary service.
- Keith Leonard BEDELL-PEARCE, Chairman, Directgov. For public service.
- Stephen John POLLARD, Director Commercial, Directorate General Saudi Armed Forces Projects, Ministry of Defence.
- Simon John PRESTON, O.B.E., Organist. For services to Classical Music.
- Dr. Katharine Bridget PRETTY, Principal, Homerton College, Cambridge and Pro-Vice-Chancellor, University of Cambridge. For services to Higher Education.
- Sir William Henry PROBY, Bt., D.L., lately Chairman, National Trust. For services to Conservation and to Heritage.
- Jonathan PRYCE, Actor. For services to Drama.
- Miss Alice Loretto QUINN, Chair, Health Promotion Agency Northern Ireland. For services to Healthcare.
- Dr. June Munro RAINE, Director, Vigilance and Risk Management of Medicines, Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency, Department of Health.

- Ms Joyce REDFEARN, Chief Executive, Wigan Borough Council. For services to Local Government.
- Ms Elizabeth Rushton REDFERN, Director, Patient Care and Nursing, South West Strategic Health Authority. For services to Healthcare.
- Philip Francis ROBINSON, Managing Director, SELEX Communications Ltd. For services to the Defence Industry.
- Guy RYDER. For services to International Trade Unionism.
- Patricia, Mrs. SAMUEL, Deputy Director, Public Sector Partnerships, Office of the Third Sector, Cabinet Office. For public and voluntary service.
- Peter SARAGA, O.B.E., Vice-President, Royal Academy of Engineering and lately President, Institute of Physics. For services to Science and to Engineering.
- Peter SEBASTIAN, Senior Civil Servant, Ministry of Defence.
- Ian Shott. For services to the Chemical Engineering Industry.
- Dr. Elizabeth SIDWELL, Chief Executive, Haberdashers' Aske's Federation, Lewisham, London. For services to local and national Education.
- Dr. Malcolm SKINGLE, Director, Academic Liaison, Worldwide Business Development, GlaxoSmithKline. For services to the Pharmaceutical Industry.
- Ms Jane SLOWEY, Chief Executive, Foyer Federation. For services to Disadvantaged Young People.
- Ms Delia SMITH, O.B.E., Cookery Writer and Broadcaster. For services to the Food Industry.
- Dr. James Matheson SMITH, Chairman, Shell UK. For services to the Oil and Gas industries.
- Michael Thomas SMYTH, Partner, Clifford Chance. For services to Pro Bono Legal Work.
- Paul SNELL, lately Chief Inspector of Social Services. For services to Local Government.
- Miss Christine Joy STEWART, lately Director, Criminal Law and Sentencing Policy, Ministry of Justice.
- James Robert STEWART, Chairman, Warrenpoint Harbour Authority. For services to the Ports Industry in Northern Ireland.
- Christopher TAILBY, Director, Anti-Avoidance Group, H.M. Revenue and Customs.
- Richard James THOMAS, Information Commissioner. For public service.
- Professor Peter TOYNE. For services to the community in Liverpool.
- David TURRELL, Headteacher, Sir Bernard Lovell School, Bristol and Chairman, Kingswood 14-19 Partnership. For services to local and national Education.
- Rumi VERJEE. For charitable services.
- Graham VICK, Artistic Director, Birmingham Opera Company. For services to Opera.
- John Robert WALKER, lately Chief Executive, English Partnerships. For services to Regeneration.
- Ms Sandra WALKER, Deputy Director, Children's Services Division, Legal Advisers' Office, Department for Children, Schools and Families.
- James WARDROPE, Consultant in Emergency Medicine, Northern General Hospital NHS Trust, Sheffield. For services to Medicine.
- Professor David Allan WARNER, Vice-Chancellor, Swansea Metropolitan University. For services to local and national Higher Education.