- Thomas Edward Dacombe EDDY, Grade 5, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.
- Anthony John EDGE, lately Director of Field Operations for Wales, Midlands and the South, Department for Work and Pensions.
- Iain Scott ELRICK, lately Chief Executive, Defence Bills Agency, Ministry of Defence.
- Jean Elizabeth, Mrs. Ensing, lately President, British Association of Early Childhood Education. For services to Early Years Education.
- Professor Hubert Roy Evans, Vice Chancellor, University of Wales, Bangor. For services to Higher Education.
- John Anthony Leonard Faint, International Director, Department for International Development.
- Keith John FAULKNER, Managing Director, Working Links. For services to Industry and to Unemployed People.
- Sebastian Charles FAULKS, Writer. For services to Literature.
- David John Fletcher, Chief Executive, British Waterways. For services to Inland Waterways.
- Ms Shelia Mary Forbes. For services to Women in the Workforce.
- John Richard Forrest. For services to the Radio and Communications Industry.
- Kenneth Peat Forrest, lately Director, International Oil and Gas Business Directorate, Department of Trade and Industry.
- Joanna Katharine, Mrs. Foster. For services to the World of Work and to Equal Opportunities.
- Samuel Foster, M.L.A. For political and public service. Elizabeth Irene, Mrs. France, Information Commissioner. For services to Data Protection.
- Samuel Richard Gallop, O.B.E. For services to People with Disabilities.
- Donald James Gelling, lately Chief Minister. For services to the Isle of Man.
- Elizabeth Jon, Mrs. Grimsey, L.V.O., Director, Judicial Group, Lord Chancellor's Department.
- Miss Zaha Hadid, Architect. For services to Architecture.
- David Ross Harper, Chief Scientist, Public Health and Clinical Quality Directorate, Department of Health.
- Jonathan David HARRIS, O.B.E., lately President, Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. For services to the Surveying Profession.
- Professor Michael Patrick HASSELL, F.R.S., Principal, Faculty of Life Sciences, Imperial College London. For services to Population Ecology.
- William Edward Hesketh. For services to Public Transport.
- Richard Michael HICKMAN, lately Chief Reporter, Scottish Executive.
- Richard Sidney HICKOX, Conductor. For services to Music.
- Professor Marian Elizabeth Hobson (Mrs. Jeanneret), Professor of French, Queen Mary College, University of London. For services to French Language and Literature
- Graham John HOOKER, Head of Detection (South), H.M. Board of Customs and Excise.
- Ms Rebecca Howard. For services to Nursing and Health Care Management.

- Gordon Charles Keymer, Leader, Tandridge District Council. For services to Local Government.
- Professor Ann-Louise Kinmonth, Professor of General Practice, University of Cambridge. For services to Primary Care Research and Development.
- Ms Francoise Mathilde LEAKE, Headteacher, Westborough High School, Dewsbury, West Yorkshire. For services to Education.
- Professor Arthur Maurice Lucas, Principal, King's College, London. For services to Higher Education.
- William Macquarie Lyne, M.B.E., Director, Wigmore Hall. For services to Music.
- Richard Auld Macdonald, Director General, National Farmers' Union. For services to Agriculture.
- Ms Susan Katriona MacGregor, O.B.E. For services to Radio Broadcasting.
- William Kenneth MacIVER. For services to the Aerospace Industry.
- Mavis, Mrs. Maclean. For services to Research in the Justice System.
- Professor Peter James Marshall, Historian. For services to History.
- Christopher Masters, lately Chairman, AGGREKO plc. For services to Industry.
- Professor John Vincent McCanny. For services to Engineering and Higher Education.
- William Arthur McKee, J.P., lately Director General, British Property Federation. For services to the Property Industry.
- Professor Cecil Hugh McMurray. For Public Service.
- Charles Gordon Brown NICHOLSON, Q.C., Sheriff Principal, Lothian and Borders. For services to the Administration of Justice in Scotland.
- Torquil Patrick Alexander Norman, Founder, Norman Trust and Roundhouse. For services to Disadvantaged Young People.
- Thomas O'NEILL, Senior Vice President, Thales Defence UK. For services to the Defence Industry.
- Professor Thomas Martin Partington. For services to the Administration of Justice.
- Ian Harry Peattie, Assistant Paymaster General, National Investment and Loans Office.
- Professor William Brian Peeling. For services to Urology.
- Tom Phillips, Painter, Writer and Composer. For services to the Arts.
- Ian Plenderleith, lately Executive Director. For services to the Bank of England.
- Professor Christopher John Pollock, Director, Institute of Grassland and Environmental Research. For services to the Environment.
- Clifford James Prior, Chief Executive, National Schizophrenia Fellowship. For services to Health Care.
- Paul Maximilian RAYNER, lately Principal Establishment and Finance Officer, Serious Fraud Office.
- The Right Honourable Edward ROWLANDS. For services to the History of Parliament Trust.
- Miss Gillian Mary Ryder Samuels, Senior Director, Science Policy and Scientific Affairs Europe. For services to the Bioscience and Pharmaceutical Industries.
- Professor Peter John Schuddeboom. For services to Enterprise, Trade and Investment.