M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- Squadron Leader Norman BALGARNIE (593899), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Michael BROKENSHIRE (F3522247), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader (now Wing Commander) Alexander DICKSON (3143089), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.
- Squadron Leader Bryan Edward DUNFORD (682557), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer John Edward Alfred FINCH, B.E.M. (J1938435), Royal Air Force.
- Flight Lieutenant Jack Wilfred GODRIDGE (3511333), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve (Training).
- Squadron Leader Philip Charles GOODMAN (5202179), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Michael Andrew GORDON (2625943), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Nicholas Trelawney HAMLYN (S1937963), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer David Francis HANCOX (L4264409), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Gordon George Austin HICKMORE (4158655), Royal Air Force.
- Flight Lieutenant Trevor Paul HICKS (1960332), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader David Jefferson HURLEY (8024998), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Haydn JONES (593059), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader George Peter Ferris MONTGOMERY (4245623), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Michael Anthony NORRIS (4232651), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Geoffrey ROBERTS (2456946), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer David ROSS, A.F.M. (L4141822), Royal Air Force.
- Flight Lieutenant Graham Edward STACEY (5204459), Royal Air Force Regiment.
- Squadron Leader Gordon TODD (3135815), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve (Training).
- Squadron Leader John WALTON (5070351), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Richard John WOODROFFE (8022919), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Norman Joseph YATES (M0593020), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Malcolm YOUNG (5201417), Royal Air Force.

Order of the British Empire (Civil Division)

D.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Dame Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Elsie Rosemary, Mrs. RUE, C.B.E., former Regional General Manager and Regional Medical Officer, Oxford Regional Health Authority.

K.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

The Reverend Professor Henry CHADWICK, Master of Peterhouse, Cambridge.

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- The Most Honourable (Beatrice Mary) June, MARCHIONESS OF ABERDEEN AND TEMAIR, M.B.E., D.L. For services to the arts and the community in North-East Scotland.
- Major Kenneth Galt ADAMS, C.V.O. For services to Industry.
- Leslie Newman ANDERTON, M.B.E., Chairman, Rugby Health Authority.
- Robert Ronald ANGRAVE, Leader, Conservative Group, Leicestershire County Council.
- Professor James ARMOUR, Chairman, Veterinary Products Committee.
- Patrick John ARMSTRONG, Chief Social Services Inspector, Department of Health and Social Services, Northern Ireland.
- Colin Ronald Michael ATKINSON, Principal, Millfield Independent School.
- Brian Edward BARCLAY, Grade 5, Board of Customs and Excise.
- Professor Frank BARLOW. For services to the study of English Medieval History.
- Peter Crawford BOULTER, Director of Education, Cumbria.
- John Ashton BROOKS, lately Deputy Group Chief Executive, Midland Bank.
- Miss Margaret Grace CLAY. For political and public service.
- Herbert Arthur CLEMENTS, Chairman and Managing Director, SSS Gears Ltd.
- William COCKBURN, T.D., Managing Director, Letters, Post Office Corporation; Member, Post Office Board.
- Michael Victor CODRON, Theatrical Producer.
- Ian Anthony, Baron COLWYN. For political service.
- John Neve COOPER, O.B.E., Chairman, Anglo-Yugoslav Trade Council; Vice President, East European Trade Council. For services to Export.
- Frederick George COTTON, Managing Director, Friends' Provident Life Office.
- William Frederick COTTON, O.B.E., lately Managing Director, BBC Television.
- Edgar Alfred CROKER, lately Secretary, The Football Association.
- Major David John Cecil DAVENPORT (Retd.), D.L., Member, Rural Development Commission.
- Alexander Henry Marie de GELSEY, Chairman, Sericol International Ltd.
- Andre DEUTSCH, Joint Chairman, Andre Deutsch Ltd.
- Duncan DOWSON, Professor of Engineering Fluid Mechanics and Tribology; Director, Institute of Tribology, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Leeds.
- Arthur Edward Hammond DOWTY, M.B.E. For political and public service.
- Vivien Louise, Mrs. DUFFIELD, Trustee, Clore Foundation.
- The Reverend Professor Gordon Reginald DUNSTAN. For services to Medical Ethics.
- Alfred Kenneth EDWARDS, M.B.E., lately Deputy Director General, Confederation of British Industry.
- James Griffith EDWARDS, Professor of Addiction Behaviour, Institute of Psychiatry, University of
- London. For services to Medical and Social Science. Mark Philip ELDER, Music Director, English National Opera.