Andrew Carmichael BENNETT. For services to the Earl Haig Fund (Scotland).

Colonel Harold Frederick Oberlinne BEWSHER, Director General, The Scotch Whisky Association.

Miss Elizabeth BLACKADDER (Elizabeth Violet, Mrs. Houston), Painter.

Elaine, Mrs. BLOND. For public and charitable services.

John McMillan BOON, Chairman, Water Companies Association.

John Wallace BOOTH, lately Deputy Collector, Board of Customs and Excise.

John Noel BOWEN, Chairman, Llangollen International Music Eisteddfod.

Elizabeth Eleanor, Mrs. SIMPSON-BRASS, Area Organiser, North East Division, Area 1 Northumbria, Women's Royal Voluntary Service.

Kelvin Arthur BRAY, Managing Director, Ruston Gas Turbines Ltd. For services to Export.

Michael Vaughan BRIAN, Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Natural Environment Research Council.

Norman Trevor BRINT, lately Principal Professional Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Peter Francis Thomas BROMWICH, Chairman, Warwickshire Association of Boys' Clubs.

Rabbi Solomon BROWN. For service to the community in Leeds.

Megan Patricia, Lady BULL, Governor, HM Prison, Holloway.

Kathleen Beatrice, Mrs. BUTLER. For Political Service.

Miss Margaret Mary BYRNE, lately Nurse Member, Kent Area Health Authority.

William BLACK-CAMPBELL, Member, Tropical Africa Advisory Group, British Overseas Trade Board. For services to Export.

Miss Joyce Lilian CAREY, Actress.

Miss Alison Joan BOYD-CARPENTER, Member, National Society for Epilepsy.

Guy Lawrence GORDON-CLARK, Chairman, West Sussex Probation and After-Care Committee.

Mae Calder, Mrs. COCHRANE, lately President, Scottish Amateur Swimming Association.

Evelyn Marguerite, Mrs. COCKBURN. For Political and Public Service in Scotland.

Gerard Anthony Dillon COGHLAN, Chairman, West Midlands Council for School Works Links. Jeffrey Thrale COLLINS, Director, Chemical Industries Association Ltd.

John Frederick Norman COLLINS, County Planner, Cheshire County Council.

Joseph Elliott Needham COOPER, Pianist and Broadcaster.

Neil COSSONS, Director, Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust.

John Vincent COURTNEY, Inspector Grade I, Department of Agriculture for Northern Ireland.

Joseph Samuel CRAIG, Managing Director, UIE Shipbuilding (Scotland) Ltd.

John Robert CREER. For public services in the Isle of Man.

James Basil DAMER, Director-Secretary, Finance Houses Association.

Christopher Guy Vere DAVIDGE, President, Amateur Rowing Association.

John Arthur DAVIES, D.F.C., H.M. Inspector of Schools, Department of Education and Science.

John Egerton Claridge DE MORGAN, lately Chairman, Liaison Health and Safety Committee, Plastics Processing Industry.

Ronald Harry DEVON. For services to the com-

munity in Poole, Dorset.

Kevin Joseph DONAGHY, Chief Legal Adviser, Central Services Agency, Northern Ireland.

Alastair Geoffrey DONALD, Chairman of Council, The Royal College of General Practitioners.

Charles DONNET, National Industrial Officer, Local Authorities and National Health Services Section, National Union of General and Municipal Workers.

John Alfred Hugh EDMONDS, Leader, Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council.

Gordon Ernest FAULKNER. For Political and Public Service in the East Midlands.

Charles Miller FENTON, Managing Director, British Belting Asbestos Group plc.

Claudia, Mrs. FLANDERS, Consultant, National Bus Company.

Oswald William FLETCHER, Editor, The Sporting Life.

Thomas Ernest Trevor FORBES, Assistant Chief Constable, Royal Ulster Constabulary.

Robert Baxter GARLAND, Member, Foundries Economic Development Committee.

Joseph Albert GERBER, Headmaster, Newquay Tretherras School, Cornwall.

Miss Angela Mary GOULD, Regional Nurse, Personnel and Training, Wessex Regional Health Authority.

Major Ian Robert GRIMWOOD. For services to the conservation of wildlife overseas.

Arnold HADWIN, Editor, Telegraph and Argus, Bradford.

Alan Arthur HAGGAR, M.B.E. For services to the magistracy in Southampton.

Alexander Dunlop HALEY, Managing Director, W. E. Wassell Ltd. For services to Export.

Ronald Marsden HARVEY, Senior Ear, Nose and Throat Surgeon, Altnagelvin Hospital, Londonderry.

Leo Cyrus William HOBBIS, Head of Science Division, Science and Engineering Research Council. Clare HOLLINGWORTH. For services to Journalism.

Kenneth John HOLLOWAY, Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Joseph Erskine HOLMES, Director, Northern Ireland Federation of Housing Associations.

Miss Florence HOOTON, Cellist.

Raymond William HORNER, T.D., lately Deputy Director and Chief Engineer, Rivers Branch, Department of Public Health Engineering, Greater London Council.

Miss Ethel May HOUSTON, Solicitor, Balfour and Manson, Edinburgh.

Angela Winifred, Mrs. HUGHES, Farmer, Dorset. William Ernest Gifford HUMPHREY, D.F.C., Director, Community of St. Helens Trust.

Norman Waltham HUSSEY, Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Glasshouse Crops Research Institute.

Noel IRWIN, Vice President and Director, Hughes Tool Company Ltd., Belfast.

James Thomson JARDINE. Chairman, Police Federation of England and Wales.

John Elfed JONES, lately Principal, Tameside College of Technology, Ashton-under-Lyne.