Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (contd.)

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Cyril George Akhurst, Esq., formerly Deputy Director of the Rubber Research Institute of Malaya.

Douglas James Bell, Esq., Resident Director of the Indian Steelworks Construction Company Limited at the Durgapur Steelworks, India.

James Richard Henry Burns, Esq., Chief Police

Officer, Perak, Malaya. Robert Turnbull Cochran, Esq., President, United Kingdom Association of Pakistan.

Colin John Delaney, Esq., C.V.O., Commissioner of Police, State of New South Wales.

Frederick Ernest Islip, Esq., Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, State of Western Australia.

Sydney Vernon LAWRENSON, Esq., O.B.E., Government Secretary, Bechuanaland Protectorate. John Circuitt Lucas, Esq., Director and Manager

of Elder Dempster Agencies Limited in Ghana. Robert Miller MACINTYRE, Esq. For services to the British community in Ceylon.

Hugh Munro Macleod Mackenzie, Esq., M.B.E., Chairman, Public Services Board, Southern Rhodesia.

Harold Cecil Charles Marshall, Esq., General Manager of the Bank of New South Wales.

Roderick William MILLER, Esq. For services to Industry in the State of New South Wales.

William Hogarth Robertson NIMMO, Esq. For services to the State of Queensland in the field of engineering.

Basil Osborne, Esq., Lord Mayor of the City of Hobart, State of Tasmania.

Bert Edward Bernard Schumacher, Esq., formerly Public Service Commissioner, State of South Australia.

Henry John Shailes, Esq., M.B.E., Chairman and General Manager, Penang Port Commission, Penang, Malaya.

Maurice Shmith, Esq. For public services in the State of Victoria.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Professor Henry Ingham Ashworth, Dean of the Faculty of Architecture, University of Sydney, State of New South Wales.

John Speir Baird, Esq., M.B., B.S., President of the Dental Board, State of New South Wales. Colonel Leslie Hugh BEAN, M.B.E., General Manager of the Ghana Chamber of Mines.

Lady Moyra Blanche Madeleine Browne, Chairman, Hospitality Committee, The Victoria League.

Richard Joseph Wauchope CRAIG, Esq., M.C., Assistant Commissioner of Police, Federation of Malaya.

seph Victor Danckwerts, Esq., Chairman Land Settlement Board, Southern Rhodesia. Chairman,

Desmond Nigel DAVIES, Esq., Director of Geological Survey and Commissioner Mines, Swaziland.

Talog Davies, Esq., Senior Federal Attorney-General's Federation of Malaya.

Donald Robert Day, Esq., Director of Education, Basutoland.

Sydney Clarence French, Esq. For public services in the State of Tasmania.

James Halliday, Esq., formerly Deputy Director of Public Works, Federation of Malaya.

Marshall Hamer, Esq., Chairman, Chittagong Branch, United Kingdom Association of Pakistan.

Phillip Bellair HAYES, Esq. For services to exservicemen in the State of Victoria.

Robert Arthur Hughes, Esq., M.B., F.R.C.S., Senior Medical Officer, Khasi Hills, Welsh Mission Hospital, Shillong, Assam, India. For services to the British community.

Merlin Kay Neil Johansen, Esq., Engineer for the Shire of Mildura, State of Victoria.

Jocelyn Amy Ashley, Mrs. Kingsley, Chairman, Commonwealth Students Committee, The Victoria League.

Gordon Leckie, Esq. For public services in the State of Victoria.

Robert Bowden Madgwick, Esq., Vice-Chancel-lor of the University of New England, State of New South Wales.

Walter Wilson MAYNE, Esq. For services to the British community in South India.

John Alexander Hughes McGeorge, Esq., M.B., Ch.M., a consultant psychiatrist in the State of New South Wales.

James Francis McGILL, Esq. For services to charitable organisations in the State of Queensland.

Kenneth Gordon McIntyre, Esq., Mayor of the City of Box Hill, State of Victoria.

Miss Gertrude Monica MILLINGTON, mistress, Woodlands Church of England Girls' School, State of South Australia.

William RALSTON, Esq., M.B.E., Director of Mines and Chairman of the Mining Affairs Board, Southern Rhodesia.

Esq., Edmund Payne SHEPHERD. Manager, Murray River Wholesale Co-operative Limited, State of South Australia.

Kenneth Unsworth, Esq., Director of Veterinary Services, Bechuanaland Protectorate.

Eben Gowrie Waterhouse, Esq. For services to the community in the State of New South Wales.

Herbert William Watson, Esq., Honorary Secretary and Superintendent, Montrose Home for Crippled Children, Brisbane, State of Queensland.

Joseph Dudley Westwood, Esq., M.C. For services to ex-servicemen in the State of New South Wales.

Hector McDonald Wright, Esq., J.P., Secretary, Royal Hobart Hospital, State of Tasmania.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Charles Augustus Francis Armbruster, Esq. For services to ex-servicemen, especially the limbless, in the State of South Australia.

Agnes Dora, Mrs. Baker, of Bundaberg, State of Queensland. For social welfare services.

The Reverend Robert BARLOW. For services to the British community in Bombay, India.

Wilhemina Johanna, Mrs. Champion. social welfare services in Southern Rhodesia.

Samuel Clarkson, Esq., of Fremantle, State of Western Australia. For services to the Guide Dogs for the Blind movement.

Miss Fanny Cohen. For services to Education in the State of New South Wales.

Samuel John Wilson Coles, Esq. For services

to the British community in Pakistan. Jan Steyn de BEER, Esq., Director of Agriculture, Bechuanaland Protectorate.

Jean, Mrs. Dennis, Mayor of the Borough of Wonthaggi, State of Victoria.